If You Disable Read Receipts, Your iPhone May Tattle On You Anyway

An iPhone Messages conversation where the user thinks read receipts are disabled.
Apple

By default, the Messages app on iPhone tells your friends, family, and coworkers when you’ve read a text. But why would you want that? If you’re cruel like me, you probably disabled read receipts a long time ago. There’s just one tiny problem; your iPhone may tattle on you.

As reported by Macworld, a new Messages bug may mark texts as “Read” when read receipts are disabled. This seems to be a genuine bug on iOS 15 devices, though at the time of writing, it’s unclear whether this bug affects iPadOS, macOS, or older versions of iOS.

Some iPhone users say that restarting their device resolves this issue. But until Apple rolls out an official fix (either through a firmware update or server-side update), there’s a chance that your iPhone may accidentally mark messages as “Read.”

I should note that some iPhone users’ Messages settings “reshuffled” after the recent iOS 15 update. If you want Read Receipts disabled, please double-check that the feature is turned off. (I suspect that some reports of this bug are just people who haven’t double-checked their settings.)

We’ll update this article when Apple rolls out a fix or comments on the bug.

Source: Macworld

Andrew Heinzman Andrew Heinzman
Andrew is a writer for Review Geek and its sister site, How-To Geek. Like a jack-of-all-trades, he handles the writing and image editing for a mess of tech news articles, daily deals, product reviews, and complicated explainers. Read Full Bio »

The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support Review Geek.